| Share

2013 Chamber Music Series Kevin Kwan Loucks, Artistic Director

Saturday, January 26

Kevin Kwan Loucks150x150 Time(s): 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Location:Palm Court Arts Complex | Map & Directions
Free Parking & Admission

Seating is limited – seat passes distributed at 1:30 p.m.

This lively series of immersive, informative and informal chamber concerts curated by Kevin Kwan Loucks features guest artists such as Ross Gasworth, Bill Kalinkos, Iryna Krechkovsky and Kimberly Patterson. Loucks served as Great Park artist in residence in 2011-12 and was praised by the Orange County Register for “exhilarating polish, unity, and engagement.” The Völser Zeitung (Italy) considers him “a shining talent” and La Presse, Montréal terms his musicianship “impeccable.”

Yamaha Piano provided courtesy of Yamaha Corporation of America


Saturday, January 26
French Impressions

Iryna Krechkovsky, violin
Kimberly Patterson, cello
Kevin Kwan Loucks, piano

Debussy (1862-1918)
Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor, L. 140 (1917)

Franck (1822-1890)
Arranged by Jules Delsart
Sonata for Cello and Piano in A Major 1886

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
Piano Trio in A minor (1914)

From 1871 to the early 1900s, French composers began experimenting with instrumental sonorities through the power of suggestion and atmosphere – music that directly opposed the emotional excesses of the Romantic era. French Impressions features three masterpieces from the French chamber music repertoire: Claude Debussy’s final composition, the Sonata for Violin and Piano; Cesar Franck’s richly harmonic and cyclically structured Sonata for Cello and Piano; and Maurice Ravel’s exotic and highly virtuosic Trio for Violin, Cello, and Piano composed at the onset of World War I.

Saturday, February 23
All Brahms

The Krechkovsky/Loucks Duo
Iryna Krechkovsky, violin
Kevin Kwan Loucks, piano

Brahms (1833-1897)
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 in G Major, Op. 78
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 2 in A Major, Op. 100
Scherzo for Violin and Piano in C minor “Sonatensatz”
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108

Johannes Brahms composed the three sonatas for violin and piano between 1878 and 1888. The Sonata in G Major is an astonishing “first” by any standard; it is a tender work full of lyricism and sacred repose. The A Major Sonata radiates intimacy and gentility, while the Scherzo movement (Sonatensatz) is driven by youthful energy. The powerful Sonata in D minor explores a more varied emotional landscape wrought with passion, urgency, and restlessness. This cycle of masterpieces occupy their own rarefied world of brilliant construction and exquisite beauty, qualities synonymous with all of Brahms’s music.

Saturday, March 30
Music for the End of Time

Trio Céleste with guest artist Bill Kalinkos
Bill Kalinkos, clarinet
Iryna Krechkovsky, violin
Ross Gasworh, cello
Kevin Kwan Loucks, piano

Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op. 67 (1944)

Messiaen (1908-1922)
Quartet for the End of Time (1941)

Russian composer Dmitri Shostakovich and French composer Olivier Messiaen were both deeply affected by the tragedies of World War II. Shostakovich’s Piano Trio No. 2 was composed in the midst of the War, and like many of his works, seems to comment on the tenor of the times with eerie instrumental effects and a tortured “Dance of Death.” Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time contains some of the most ethereally beautiful music from the last century. It was first premiered on a freezing January night in 1941 at a prisoner-of-war camp in Görlitz, Germany where the composer was held captive. Messiaen wrote in the preface of the score that the work was inspired by a text from the Book of Revelations:

And I saw another mighty angel come down from heaven, clothed with a cloud: and a rainbow was upon his head, and his face was as it were the sun, and his feet as pillars of fire… and he set his right foot upon the sea, and his left foot on the earth… And the angel which I saw stand upon the sea and upon the earth lifted up his hand to heaven, and sware by him that liveth for ever and ever… that there should be time no longer: But in the days of the voice of the seventh angel, when he shall begin to sound, the mystery of God should be finished…

About Kevin Kwan Loucks
Kevin Kwan Loucks is a critically-acclaimed classical pianist who has performed in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall, Prösels Castle in Italy, the Kennedy Center, Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall, Lichtenstein Palace in Prague and Aspen’s Harris Concert Hall where he was featured on National Public Radio’s Performance Today. A graduate of The Juilliard School in New York, Kevin is currently completing his Doctor of Musical Arts degree at Stony Brook University where he was teaching assistant to the Emerson String Quartet. He served as Artist-in-Residence at the Orange County Great Park and at UCI in 2012.